Start Up Stories

Are You Doing Your Job Coach?

Posted in Uncategorized by Devon on April 13, 2009

It’s November in New England and Thanksgiving is fast approaching. I see that I was already starting to review partners. I took a class with Jack Welch at Sloan and wrote, in my class review, “I am astonished at the lack of candor, and its corresponding opportunity cost, in the world around me now having been in Jack’s class. Many people just don’t give their peers the feedback needed to improve personal effectiveness. Certainly, I am redoubling my own efforts to be direct, immediate, and honest with the people in my life.” Candor and communication are really critical, ESPECIALLY IN A STARTUP! It may seem odd to conduct regular formal reviews in a start-up but, it isn’t. Start-ups are pressure-cookers demanding every ounce of creativity, energy, skill, and personal commitment everyone has to offer. This is exactly the environment where routine thoughtful, direct, and honest communication is crucial.

When was the last time you invested the time to conduct performance and values reviews with your partners and/or employees? If it’s been more than 3 months – you aren’t doing your job as head coach.

Leave a Reply

